Shelf Love And Travel Promises

For Travel Promises, go to the end, my friend. For books, well, you have to start at the beginning.

To kick off my reading challenges I am choosing three books (Bonus! They fit from all of my challenges):
1. Money: The unauthorised biography by Felix Martin:

What is money, and how does it work?

The conventional answer is that people once used sugar in the West Indies, tobacco in Virginia, and dried cod in Newfoundland, and that today’s financial universe evolved from barter.

Unfortunately, there is a problem with this story. It’s wrong. And not just wrong, but dangerous.

Money: the Unauthorised Biography unfolds a panoramic secret history and explains the truth about money: what it is, where it comes from, and how it works.

Money is a concept that I’ve always struggled to fully comprehend. Like most humans, I struggle with intangible ideas and this system whereby certain people can create value out of nothing or a deficit (to learn more about that read Whoops!/IOU), or decide how much an imaginary thing is worth based solely on confidence,is something that I only vaguely understand. I’d compare my understanding to things in my peripheral vision; so I’m working on adjusting my vision so I can grasp it a bit better.

I’ve had this book since summer. It was a gift from a friend whom I respect and, having read the first several pages, I will say I like the start.

This fulfills part of my my #beathebacklist and #learnsomething! challenges.
2. Shadow and Bone- Leigh Bardugo:

Having just finished Six of Crows and LOVING IT, I immediately picked up Shadow and Bone. Leigh has a knack for believable character development and witty dialogue.  Love the world she’s created and I’m looking forward to having a great experience with Shadow and Bone.

Surrounded by enemies, the once-great nation of Ravka has been torn in two by the Shadow Fold, a swath of near impenetrable darkness crawling with monsters who feast on human flesh. Now its fate may rest on the shoulders of one lonely refugee.

Alina Starkov has never been good at anything. But when her regiment is attacked on the Fold and her best friend is brutally injured, Alina reveals a dormant power that saves his life—a power that could be the key to setting her war-ravaged country free. Wrenched from everything she knows, Alina is whisked away to the royal court to be trained as a member of the Grisha, the magical elite led by the mysterious Darkling.

Yet nothing in this lavish world is what it seems. With darkness looming and an entire kingdom depending on her untamed power, Alina will have to confront the secrets of the Grisha . . . and the secrets of her heart.

Blagh, “secrets of her heart” not a fan of that blurb ending. Good thing I love the author so much! This fulfills part of my #flightsoffantasy challenge. I thought about saying it’s part of my #learnsomething!challenge as I’m writing my own book, but seeing as I love fantasy so much, that seemed a bit like cheating.

3. The Three-Body Problem by Liu Cixin

I picked up this book on whim this summer, and it’s been sitting on my shelf since.
The premise is intriguing and, knowing Sci-fi’s history of political subversion, I was interested what Cixin would do.

The Three-Body Problem is the first chance for English-speaking readers to experience this multiple award winning phenomenon from China’s most beloved science fiction author, Liu Cixin.

Set against the backdrop of China’s Cultural Revolution, a secret military project sends signals into space to establish contact with aliens. An alien civilization on the brink of destruction captures the signal and plans to invade Earth. Meanwhile, on Earth, different camps start forming, planning to either welcome the superior beings and help them take over a world seen as corrupt, or to fight against the invasion. The result is a science fiction masterpiece of enormous scope and vision.

What are you all reading this first month of 2017?

Upcoming Posts:

The Environment and the West Bank: I’ll talk a bit about environmental engineering, environmental awareness and sort of what I think the future might hold based on what I’ve observed.

News Update: I’m reviving WTNLOT because I want  to get back into analyzing news reports and sharing interesting stories

Shelf Love: Did I actually follow through on keeping to my challenges? I laugh and shakes my head in self-pity.

Leave a Reply

